Lake Region dominates in track meet, celebrates senior day

1 min read
Responsive Banner Ad
Subscribe Banner

ORLEANS — Lake Region Union High School’s boys and girls track teams put on an impressive display at a recent meet, with both teams claiming first place.

The boys team scored 70 points, followed by Lyndon with 57, Richford with 22, and Websterville Christian Academy with 1. The girls team scored 72 points, with Lyndon taking second with 60, and Richford and Websterville Christian Academy tying for third with 4 points each.

The Lake Region boys team dominated the field events, with Justin Young winning the high jump and shot put, Tristan Blay taking first in the discus and triple jump, and Luc Oliver winning the long jump.

The boys also excelled in the relays, winning the SMR (Jeremiah Badertscher, Tristan Morley, Adler Lahar, Ethan Gratton-Derbyshire) and 4×400 (Jeremiah Badertscher, Ethan Gratton-Derbyshire, Oscar Forsay, Tristan Morley). In the running events, Xaviar Chapdelaine won both the 1500 and 3000, Ethan Gratton-Derbyshire took first in the 300m hurdles, and Adler Lahar won the 400m dash.

The Lake Region girls team also dominated the field events, with Maeda Urie setting a new personal record of 4-10 in the high jump, Bella Hanover winning the triple jump in her first attempt at the event, and Addie Schneider finishing just half an inch behind in second place.

Responsive Banner Ad

Sylvie Brownlow won the shot put, Madi Bowman won the discus, and Heather Alexander won the javelin.

The girls also performed well in the running events, winning the SMR (Nell Urie, Addie Schneider, Maeda Urie, and Anna Whittemore) and 4×100 (Natalie Rowell, Alayna Azur, Madi Bowman, Bella Hanover) relays, sweeping the top 4 spots in the 100m dash (Bella, Emma Bergeron, Bailey Danaher, Becca Legacy), and with Maeda Urie winning the 100m and 300m hurdles.

The meet also served as senior day, where seven seniors were recognized for their contributions to the team: Janell Therrien, Nicole Pavanelli, Alayna Azur, Madison Bowman, Natalie Rowell, Sylvia Brownlow, and Justin Young.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.